Kira Meets Desiderio

13.06.2012 21:48

This sequel (well, happening in 1941, so quite a long while before the other two) is presenting the first time our pair meets and gives us a deeper look into Kira's past and her position in the vampire society.

*Stop your mouth already, Cin. We want to read!*

*Oh, shut up. I just wanted to... Uhm... Nothing, go on...*

 

I jerked the blade out of the man’s chest. He fell to his knees, coughed out blood and stared at it with surprise. Then he blinked at me. I got behind him by few quick steps and he didn’t try to stop me. Grabbing a handful of his hair, I pulled his head back and exposed the line of neck. The man moaned painfully. Leaning down to his ear I whispered: “Die.” as I cut his head of with one swift movement of sword. The body slid down and crashed to the floor with a heavy wet sound, pool of blood getting bigger and bigger.
I slowly raised the hand with the head and turned to face the hostile vampire group. I smiled when their leader hissed at me. “Here returns your warrior, sir,” I said as I threw the head to his feet. All of them were now showing fangs for me, just for me. It waswonderful.
I backed til I felt my own leader standing in front of his group just behind me.
“Good job, Kira,” he said softly.
“Thanks, sir,” I murmured, leaving my back to our enemies and walking into the crowd.
The vampires were completely still as I pushed my way through them. I didn’t know these faces, at least not the majority of them. And with those familiar ones I wasn’t a close friend either. I was at the edge of our group, I did belong and I didn’t. Tonight I came because tonight came everybody. Tonight it was the matter of measuring forces. It would have been a great battle, if the leaders hadn’t agreed one-to-one combat. The traditional one, where one side picks both fighters and the second chooses weapons. They elected their warrior, big muscular guy called Tingo to go to the ring with me... well... practically the weakest vampire in room. But it’s not a coincidence that I have survived for five hundred years. I have been invisible for most of the time, hidden in crowd of ordinary people, living like them. Many vampires as old as I was refuse to accept technology and development. They think that with their fangs and superhuman strength and speed they don’t need these things. Maybe they don’t. But someday the science is going to wash them away and drown them in the endless tank of human knowledge.
I stopped at the edge of the group face directed to the hostiles again. The two leaders were discussing, sorry, arguing suits this scene much better, and everybody watched them. As if these two weren’t capable of doing such a thing on themselves. In all those hair and a bald head or two I caught a glimpse of a face. A man was turned to me blind and deaf to the important scene behind him. His hair laid on his shoulders in a cascades of red curls, reflecting the lights in the room and looked so silky. However it was his eyes and the breathtaking grey stare which attracted my attention the most. I looked down before I could stop myself. Dammit! This son of a bitch, gorgeous as he is, won’t make me feel embarassed. I raised my gaze. He was still watching me and as our eyes locked, he smiled. Slowly, seductively. “Oh shit,” I gasped when he started to make his way towards me. I took a few steps back then realized what I was doing and held my ground. He didn’t take his eyes of me, still approaching.
“I saw you fight, my lady,” he whispered, so close his breath have ran over my face.
“Everybody did,” I murmured back.
“They watched you, yes, my lady. But I saw you,” he said lips barely moving. These words and his voice sent trembling to my knees and I found myself staring at his mouth wandering how would it taste. I returned my gaze to his eyes, to the spark revealing itself every now and then behind the curtain of dark grey storm clouds. From this distance his look was almost too intense. He was stripping me with my eyes not only from my clothes from the skin as well. It left me feel naked and chilled. Shaking.
“Are you cold, my lady?” he asked his voice full of concern.
“No, not at all, thanks,” I backed off and as silent as I could I went to the door. I didn’t look to see what he would do.
When I got to the entrance and tried to open it he was just behind me, holding it for me, smiling. I thanked him, went through and he followed.
“Who are you?” I asked leaning to the wall, closing my oh-so-tired-of-looking-at-all-this-beauty eyes.
“My name is Desiderio,” he answered quietly.
“Why are you doing this to me, Desiderio?”
“What do you mean?” The answer have sounded from such a short distance that I had to look at him. He was standing few inches from me. It startled me but I could not move away. I was paralyzed by the grey eyes, this lovely hair, the line of his jaw, the closeness of him. It has been so long, so painfully long since i had even a little affair.
His hand appeared in my sight, caressing the edge of my face. Just a light touch which left me stunned desiring him to do it again.
“Would you prefer me not to do it?” he asked then breathing to my face, his finger tips stroking my arm. Nobody had made me feel this way since painfully long ago maybe ever. Not many vampires also looked at me like that, I was just too weak even for their beds. Yeah, I was pretty fast but my strength was almost human’s. I was fragile and they would be ashamed of me. I was alone for so long.
“No,” I whispered finally as I raised both hands, one to trace his cheekbone, the other to examine his hair. It really was as silky as it looked. Staring into his eyes I got to my tiptoes and kissed him.